Read an unlimited number of paperbacks for $18 a month

10/11/2020

I have always been a reader. From Junie B. Jones to Harry Potter to Girl on the Train. And, like any reader, switching to e-books has been a tough transition. Yes, the portability is great. With a Kindle or an app on your phone, you can sneak in a couple of pages whenever the opportunity arises. Plus, your bag doesn't weigh a hundred pounds.

Still, there is nothing like a real book in your hand. It can be hard to become fully immersed in another world while staring at the screen. And, frankly, I stare at screens enough already.
So, the next option would be to buy books. Which, doesn't work for me for three reasons. One, books are expensive. Two, I don't read books twice, so keeping them around is pointless. Three, I live in a studio apartment, and there's no room for books other than the aesthetically pleasing stack I handpicked for my shelf.

This leaves me with the option of the library. I love libraries. I used to make my mom take me there weekly. But, in New York, the library system is a little less than ideal. There are so many people checking out books, that it can take a while until the one you want is in stock. Plus, since they close rather early, I don't always have the time to go.

Then, I met BookLender. 


Honestly, this service changed my life. I have told strangers about it standing in Barnes & Noble. I would scream about it off of rooftops if I could.

Here's the deal: BookLender has a selection of more than two-hundred-and-fifty-thousand titles, including fiction, nonfiction, children's books, and audiobooks. You can add as many items as you want to your queue, and, based on your membership, BookLender will ship you 2-15 books at-a-time as they come available. Tucked inside the pages, will be a return bag and label. Once you're done, you send it back, and the cycle starts again. If this sounds familiar, it's because it's the same format as what Netflix used to do back in the day.

They have two types of membership options, limited and unlimited. If you're a more casual reader, then I recommend one of their limited plans. With these, you can choose to receive 2-6 books a month (starting at $8.99).


I have an unlimited plan, because, to be honest, I read a lot. Also, my mom taught me that there are too many good books in the world to ever read a bad one. So, if I receive a book in the mail that I don't enjoy, I like having the option to trade it in for another. With unlimited plans, you have a few options. You can be sent 2 books at-a-time ($17.99) all the way up to 15 books at-a-time ($74.99).

Personally, I think 2 books at-a-time is perfect because I always have one to read while the other one is being shipped. However, if you're someone who likes to go back and forth between multiple books or you want titles for multiple family members, then you might want to consider a plan where you can receive more at-a-time.

Hanna Leigh Williams 
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started